New York City’s cultural community is under siege.
In the aftermath of the deadly Pulse nightclub shooting, the City Council voted unanimously to enact an ordinance that will effectively ban the sale of guns and ammunition on the city’s streets.
The legislation was a response to a mass shooting that left 49 people dead and dozens more injured.
This is a new day, but the history of gun violence is not one that we should forget, writes Julia Angwin.
The law has drawn criticism from many quarters, including from groups like the National Rifle Association and the American Civil Liberties Union, as well as members of the entertainment industry and gun rights advocates.
But it also received widespread support from the local business community, which has seen its profits rise in recent years.
So far, the ordinance has been passed, but only in three of the five boroughs.
So what do you need to know about this new law?
What is the ordinance?
The ordinance is part of a broader strategy to tackle gun violence, particularly mass shootings that have resulted in hundreds of fatalities.
Its aim is to make it harder for law enforcement and gun owners to get guns, and more expensive for people to buy them.
The ban is intended to go into effect on Jan. 1, 2020, and will be enforced by the city Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH).
The city is trying to ensure that people who buy guns in New York do so lawfully.
The city will also require all gun sellers to post a notice on their storefronts that they will be closed on January 1, 2021, to make sure they are open.
The ordinance also requires sellers to keep a list of the names of people who have purchased a gun, with the information provided to police.
The notice will also include a list, as of January 1 of any weapons sold to a gun-wielding person, for a period of five years.
Those listed include a name, a street address, an email address, and a phone number, among other information.
What does it mean?
The city of New York will not ban firearms unless the seller or seller’s business is a licensed gun dealer or a person who has passed a background check.
Those who do not meet the definition of a licensed dealer will be subject to an additional $100 fine.
Anyone who buys a gun from a gun shop or online will be banned from buying a gun for another 90 days.
If a person does not meet those criteria, they can be subject for up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine, or both.
If you’re a gun owner in New England, you can contact the local police department to find out how to apply for a permit to carry a firearm in your home.
You can also apply for an exemption to the ban, which can be granted by the New York State Attorney General.
Are there any penalties for violating the law?
It is not illegal to own a gun in New Jersey or Connecticut.
However, if you’re caught in New New York, you will be arrested.
The criminal penalties for illegally owning a gun are not as severe as those for owning guns in other states.
However if you do get arrested, you could face up to three years in jail.
For people who are charged with a crime related to a crime involving a gun or ammunition, such as a felony, there is a $2,000 to $10,000 maximum fine and/or up to two years in prison.